Potential supervisors: Media theory and practice

Prof Adam Haupt

adam.haupt@uct.ac.za | (021) 650 5262

Office: A219

Areas of interest

Preferred research methods

Discourse analysis; qualitative methods that examine politics of representation critically; critical analysis of laws and policies.

Criteria for potential students (e.g. prerequisite courses or electives):
The willingness to work consistently and think laterally...

Scholarships and bursaries

Modest funds may become available in due course.


Dr Wallace Chuma

wallace.chuma@uct.ac.za | (021) 650 2858

Office A101a

Areas of interest

Preferred research methods

Qualitative, mainly discourse analysis, qualitative interviews, etc
Criteria for potential students (e.g. prerequisite courses or electives):
Preferably should have taken a methodology course

 


Dr Tanja Bosch

tanja.bosch@uct.ac.za | (021) 650 4794

Office: A128

Areas of interest

Preferred research methods

Qualitative; also happy to supervise creative radio/audio projects

Scholarships and bursaries

Possibly, but not yet confirmed

Dr Musa Ndlovu

musawenkosi.ndlovu@uct.ac.za | (021) 650 5254

Office A220

Areas of interest

On sabbatical until July 2013. Email regarding supervision in 2014


Dr Ibrahim Saleh

ibrahim.saleh@uct.ac.za | (021) 650 4837

Office A130


Areas of interest


 


Dr Marion Walton

the.marion.walton@gmail.com | @marionwalton

(021) 650 3885

Office: A217

Areas of interest

Preferred research methods

Ethnography, Discourse, multimodal and/or visual analysis, Social network analysis

Criteria for potential students

  1. FAM2009S, FAM3007F & FAM3008S OR equivalent background (e.g. New Media training, programming experience, esp for Creative projects) OR
  2. Social media elective (for quantitative studies)

Scholarships and bursaries

Ask me about applying for a Nokia research lab scholarship (for an approved mobile communication MA dissertation in 2014)


Dr Martha Evans

martha.evans@uct.ac.za | (021) 650 2856

Office A114

Areas of interest

Preferred research methods

Humanities approach (content and semiotic analysis), qualitative methods

 


Mr Ron Irwin

Ronald.irwin@uct.ac.za | (021) 650 2853

A211

Area of interest

TBC


Dr Liani Maasdorp

liani.maasdorp@uct.ac.za | (021) 650 4211

Areas of interest 

Documentary filmmaking, film editing, self-reflexive filmmaking devices/practices

Preferred research methods

Structural analysis (also qualitative, quantitative, grounded theory)


Dr Alexia Smit

alexia.smit@uct.ac.za | (021) 650 5333

Office: A16

Areas of interest

Alexia supervises Film Studies students and is only available to supervise media projects if they are focused on television and theories of affect and the body

 


Mr_Paul_Weinberg

paul.weinberg@uct.ac.za

Areas of interest

TBC